LA Shaving Soap Co BBS-1

Saturday 

3P preshave 

Crown King Switchback 400

Strop Shoppe – Baker Street 

LASSC BBS-1

Gillette Super Stainless (1)

Fine Fresh Vetiver

My first proper shave using this razor after one rushed attempt previously. I used a fresh blade and worked up some very nice Strop Shoppe lather. This razor is quite different from the Wolfman I used previously. It has a different face feel, mainly I think as the blade is held at a slightly flatter angle. I would say it doesn’t feel quite as smooth as the Wolfman, but only by a very small margin. The end result though is very close, but without any irritation. 

Overall a very good first impression with only a few patches where the shave isn’t perfect but I’m putting that down to getting used to the angle. 

Sunday


3P preshave

Brad Sears Manchurian 30mm Beehive

LASSC BBS-1

Gillette SS (2)

Fine L’Orange Noire 

I didn’t quite get the time again for a full shave tonight so I had to make do with two quick passes, just to look presentable for work the next day. I think this just made the efficiency of this razor shine as my cheeks were pretty much BBS and probably a few touch ups and it would have been perfect. I really like this Route 66 soap I picked up in a trade. Nice scent, easy to lather with really nice slick protective lather. If I hadn’t have read the ingredients I’d have thought it was a tallow soap, great creamy lather that wasn’t drying on the skin. I kept getting blasts of the orange scent from the soap throughout the evening even through the Fine Accouterments aftershave. 

Monday


3P preshave 

Morris & Forndran 2XL

Razorock Fresco

LASSC BBS-1 

Gillette SS (3)

Floid Blue aftershave 

Another good shave although the blade felt like it was nearing the end of it’s life. The M&F brush whipped up a ton of lather with plenty left to spare after three passes. I’m liking this razor but it still doesn’t feel as smooth as the Wolfman. 

Wednesday 


3P preshave 

Duke 3

Razorock Fresco

BBS-1

Polsilver SI (1)

Brut Alaska

Final shave with the BBS-1 and I’m still not a fan. It has a aggressive feel on the face and it feels to me that the blade seems to chatter quite a lot. Definitely not as smooth as the Wolfman, I thought it might have been the blade prior to using the Polsilver. Still a good result but just not the most comfortable. 

Leave a Reply

