A Fine Saturday morning shave

IMG_3322
Brad Sears S8 Manchurian
Ikon B1 slant on Bulldog handle
Gillette Swede (4)
Fine American Blend shaving soap and aftershave

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a shave. I’ve been keeping fairly busy of late and I haven’t really bought a lot lately. I feel I’m at that stage where I’m pretty content with the software and hardware I have at the moment and don’t often get drawn into buying new stuff.

I’ve recently borrowed a Wolfman razor from a friend and it does give a good shave and looks really nice but I think ultimately, in my opinion it isn’t worth the high cost for the end result. I’ll be sending it back soon so I’ll try to put up a post with my thoughts and go in depth a little more.

Back to today’s shave and I’ve been hankering to use the Fine Accoutrements American Blend soap again. I got this a while back direct from the USA but I see they are now available from a few UK vendors but the prices seem quite high for just a puck of soap without a container.

The soap is very good and has that nice YSL Rive Gauche type of scent, loading up the big Brad Sear Manchurian knot was fairly easy after leaving the soap to soak in a little water in the old spice mug where it now lives. I worked a lather up on my face adding water a little at a time and soon had mountains of thick slick lather. I’ve seen this soap compared to Tabac but to me the lather is just one tiny notch lower in quality than Tabac, but it is definitely up there with the best.

I’ve decided to use the ikon slant today after using the Wolfman pretty much solidly for well over a week. Straight away I noticed how much more noisy the slant is, almost as loud as those old 1912 type SE razors. With a light touch it delivers a very smooth feeling close shave. This old “Swede” blade is still going well so I think I’ll push it for one more shave.

I rounded off my shave with a nice cooling blast of the matching Fine aftershave which did burn a little so maybe the slant was a little harsher than it felt in use. I then had a few sprays of vintage YSL Rive Gauche to keep the scent going. About 9 hours later I can still smell it.

Leave a Reply

