Shaver Heaven week

IMG_3161
Dennis Coluccio Finest Badger
Shaver Heaven Gone Grapefruit
Merkur Futur
Sputnik (3)
Mennen Skin Bracer

I had a delivery of Shaver Heaven soaps arrive today to add to the few I already have. I went with the Gone Grapefruit which has a similar scent to TOBS grapefruit, nice and fresh and ideal for the warm summer weather we have been having.

It whipped up really nice and thick with plenty of slickness. I had about 36 hours growth to get rid of so the Futur was the obvious choice, on setting 4 WTG I was looking like I was cleanly shaven after the first pass. I turned the settings down one number per pass and after 3 passes finishing on setting 2 I was pretty much BBS all over.

A quick cooling splash of Skin Bracer and I was done and spent the rest of the night feeling my face in awe of the smoothness.

IMG_3179
Wolf Whiskers Bishop
Shaver Heaven Juicy Froot tallow
Ikon X3 slant
Gillette 7 o’clock green (1)
Floid Vigoroso aftershave

First try of the tallow Shaver Heaven soap and the ikon slant. I think I need to dial this soap in a bit more. It has a nice scent which smells like the little bubble gum balls you get.

The ikon did a good job but didn’t quite feel as smooth as the 102 slant. It seemed to have a different angle as well. Again more use needed to get the best from it I think.

The Floid was nice and cooling on this hot night and I’m left with the nice powdery amber scent.

IMG_3185
3P preshave
Stirling Kong
Shaver Heaven Vetiver & Neroli
Ikon X3
Gillette Super Stainless (2)
PAA Al Fin

Another Shaver Heaven shave with the neroli and vetiver soap which I believe is an older formulation to those used previously. I whipped up a lovely thick slick lather with the Stirling Kong brush. The scent on this is nice and when I first got it the vetiver was the dominant note, now with a few uses the neroli seems to have become the dominant note. Just goes to show that scents can change as you get through a soap.

I’m still not a fan of the X3, it’s just not as smooth feeling in use as the 102. It could be the blade I guess so I’m going to switch it out the the B1 slant and try something else in the X3 before making a decision.

EDIT: since trying a new blade it was much smoother.

Overall a good shave was had which was rounded off by a good splash of Al Fin which was very cooling and smelt great.

IMG_3194
3P Preshave
Shaver Heaven Sweet Meyer Lemon
Brad Sears Shaveworks Manchurian
Ikon B1 slant
Gillette 7 o’clock Green (3)
Brut Sports Style aftershave

I used the oldest formula Shaver Heaven soap I have to round off this week of Shaver Heaven shaves. All of the soaps have performed great but I do find the newer formulas an improvement on what was always a good vegetable based soap.

The scent on this one is great for summer, it’s like a fruit salad type of scent, much more than just lemon, there’s some melon and mandarin in there too.

The BSSW manchurian whipped up plenty of thick slick lather. I felt a little dryer post shave than the newer formula soaps but that is all. The actual shave performance seems similar throughout the range.

The B1 slant with the same blade felt much smoother in use than the X3 and its a lot more audible in use. It’s got to be one of the noisiest razors I have. 3 passes left me nice and smooth and a splash of the Brut sports style finished the job nicely and was a good compliment to the shave soap scent.

Leave a Reply

