Darwin shaves part 2

Sunday 19th June
IMG_3063
3P preshave
Switchback 400
Soap Commander Dixie
Darwin Deluxe
Personna 74 (4)
PAA Al Fin aftershave

Nice shave with the above. I’ve got a few new soaps I’ll be using this week and Dixie was one of them. A nice scent which I struggle to describe but a powdery, soapy barbershop type of scent to me. Good scent strength and the usual great Soap Commander performance with plenty of slickness.

The soap matched the Al Fin well and rounded off a really nice shave.

Tuesday 21st June
IMG_3066
3P preshave
Wolf Whiskers Bishop
Route 66 – Sweeney Todd
Darwin Deluxe
Personna 74 (5)
Fine Accoutrements L’Orange Noir

Another new soap and I’m really impressed by the performance with the first try. It lathered very easily with plenty of slickness and protection. No post shave dryness which is good too. The scent is a nice fresh summery blood orange with a woody background to it, a nice strong scent strength too.

The Fine aftershave is about as orangey as I have and was a nice match.

Thursday 23rd June
IMG_3074
3P Preshave
Dennis Coluccio Finest Badger
Wickham 1912
Darwin Deluxe
Personna 74 (6)
Myrsol Agua Balsamica

Not a bad shave from this Wickham 1912 tester soap. The Dennis Coluccio brush felt really nice and soft today. I’ve not used it for a while and was as impressed as ever with it, a great value brush.

Again the Darwin shaves just can’t be faulted and this blade is still going well and feels like new. I’ll be sad to send this razor back to my friend. Maybe I’ll get lucky and find my own one day.

The Myrsol Agua Balsamica seemed to fair nicely with the herby Wickham scented soap.

Saturday 25th June
IMG_3082
Eshave Lime Preshave Oil
Crown King Switchback 400
Crabtree & Evelyn WI Limes Soap
Darwin Deluxe
Personna 74 (7)
BdF Raffinato balm
Floid Blue aftershave

I picked up this soap the other day which is the new formula C&E soap which I heard actually lathered well unlike the previous formulation. I can confirm it does and provided a very nice shave. I hope your listening Trumpers and that you sort out your hard soaps. It would be great to have a Eucris hard soap that actually lathered.

Still getting really great shaves from the Darwin and Personna 74 combo, shave number 7 on this blade and it still feels fine.

I finished off with the balm then splash as I’d read a few guys use it in that order. I find a balm usually is too oily for my skin but it seemed to work better with the splash taking some of that oily feeling away.

Sunday 26th June
IMG_3085
3P preshave
Paladin Falstaff 26mm
Razorock Fresco
Darwin Deluxe
Personna 74 (8)
Barbasol Pacific Rush aftershave

Final Darwin shave before sending it back home to my friend. I can say it is one of the best razors I’ve ever used and I’d definitely get one if I could find one at a reasonable price.

There’s a large hole in the bottom of this soap so it shouldn’t be long till it’s finished. It’s been a while since I finished a soap, probably a few years!

The Paladin is loosening up nicely and let go of the lather nicely, it helps when you lather a soap like you hate it.

All rounded off with a nice cooling splash of the Barbasol aftershave.

The Darwin has left a big gap to fill. Hopefully the Cobra Classic can fill that space nicely for a while.

Leave a Reply

