Monogamy continues!

So have I managed to keep monogamous in monogamous March and stick to the one soap? Find out…

Saturday 05.03.16
IMG_2453
VP Leonhardy shaving brush
Caties Bubbles La Terre Verte
Gillette Aristocrat Junior
Gillette Super Stainless (5)
Barbasol Pacific Rush aftershave

Another shave sticking with the Caties Bubbles La Terre Verte shaving soap, and the aristocrat junior. Today I used the VP Leonhardy brush with what I believe is a best badger knot. This is only the second or third use of this brush and I find it quite prickly on the face when using swirling motions to build the lather, it’s much nicer feeling when using paintbrush strokes. The brush still has that badger funk smell to it too, I’m hoping the smell and prickliness will subside with more use.

Another good result for this blade on the 5th use, still feels quite sharp so maybe I’ll push it for another shave.

The Barbasol Pacific Rush was given to me by a friend who got it from America. It’s quite a nice little splash with a nice menthol kick. The scent isn’t bad either, just a modern type scent, nothing fancy but good enough for me.

Sunday 06.03.16
IMG_2461
Vitos Preshave
Omega 10066 boar brush
Caties Bubbles La Terre Verte
Gillette Aristocrat Junior
Gillette Super Stainless (6)
Figaro Monsieur aftershave

Another La Terre Verte shave to keep up the monogamous shaves. I used the Omega boar brush today which is a bit smaller than it’s older brother the pro 49. Maybe I’m out of practice with my boar brushes as I didn’t quite have enough for my third pass and managed to flick lots of lather around the bathroom when I was first building it on my face.

Overall a good shave with no real noticeable degradation of the blade. I figured after 6 shaves it was time to bin the blade and clean the aristocrat up. I’ll be switching razors for my next shave but staying with the soap. I’m surprised that I’m not getting bored with this, maybe it proves what a nice scent this soap has.

I finished off with the Figaro Monsieur aftershave which is good stuff with a nice scent and some bracing menthol. My wife kept commenting how nice I smelt which can only be a good thing.

Tuesday 08.03.16
IMG_2465
Shavemac 26mm 2 band
Caties Bubbles La Terre Verte
Merkur Futur
Gillette Super Stainless (1)
Taylor of Old Bond St No 74 Limes aftershave

On we go but with a new razor and blade today. I set the Futur on 3.5 for all three passes, I managed to just catch my bottom lip somehow and had a tiny nick but it wasn’t anything major. I got the Futur a few weeks ago but haven’t quite mastered it as yet, I borrowed one a few years ago and got on well with it so I’m sure it’ll come good in the end. I probably need to find the right blade for it.

I feel like I’m struggling to keep going a little bit with monogamous March but I’ll try to keep at it. I think the not quite perfect shave didn’t help.

The TOBS splash rounded things off nicely though.

Wednesday 09.03.16
IMG_2469
Swagger & Jacks Preshave Oil
Razorock Chubby shaving brush
Caties Bubbles La Terre Verte
Merkur Futur @ 4
Gillette Super Stainless (2)
Fine Accoutrements Platinum aftershave

A much improved result tonight by turning up the Futur to 4, it’s strange but it seemed smoother on a higher setting.

I really have grown to like the Razorock Chubby brush. It’s got super soft tips and plenty of backbone and its huge. It certainly feels much more luxurious than the price they ask for them.

Good performance from the soap and it’s interesting to see how much soap has been used so far since starting on the first of the month. It’s been nice to see it go down and actually makes me see that soaps can be used up! Something you just don’t notice switching through soaps each shave.

Thursday 10.03.16
IMG_2471
Swagger & Jacks Preshave Oil
Stirling Soap Co “Kong” shaving brush
Caties Bubbles La Terre Verte
Merkur Futur @ 4
Gillette Super Stainless (3)
Burberry Weekend Sport aftershave

Still keeping up with monogamous March using the Stirling synthetic shaving brush tonight. This brush whips up a mean lather so easily.

No real dramas with the Futur tonight with a good clean result. I think this is shave number 7 with the La Terre Verte.

I had a look towards the back of my aftershave drawer and found this Burberry aftershave, it sure does have a big alcohol burn when you put it on but smells very nice.

Leave a Reply

