SOTD 02.02.16 – Saponificio Varesino 70th Anniversary

IMG_2307
3P preshave
Dennis Coluccio Finest Badger
Saponificio Varesino 70th Anniversary shaving soap
Ikon Slant DLC
Vintage Wilkinson Sword (4)
Saponificio Varesino 70th Anniversary aftershave

Great birthday shave today. I’ve been waiting for this soap for a while and it didn’t disappoint. I’ve seen it in so many SOTD posts and read plenty of reviews.

The tin is a little flimsy but not as bad as I thought it would be reading other reviews. It’s not what you would expect looking at it as a metal tin but does the job of holding the soap.

Opening it up it has a very strong scent which is very close to Acqua Di Geo with a bitter citrus scent with fresh marine notes.

I have quite a few of the SV soaps now and although a veggie formula they perform like a good tallow soap. A lot of veggie soaps will leave my skin dry after use but I haven’t had any dryness with any of the SV formulas I’ve tried.

I followed my usual technique with these soaps, I left about a teaspoon of water on top to soften the soap before use then loaded up with a squeezed out badger brush for about 30 seconds until I got a good paste in the bristles. I then gave the tips a very quick dip in my sink water then face lathered. I probably dipped the tips two or three times till I got the lather how I liked it. Plenty thick, nicely hydrated with plenty of slickness. I can’t really fault these soaps in any area really, hence why I’ve got 4 of their soaps now.

First try of the ikon slant and it seems good, not sure I prefer it to the 102 slant by ikon apart from the bigger blade gap curing the issue with the clogging up easily. The head felt a bit thicker which didn’t make it as easy to manoeuvre. The angle didn’t seem as natural as the 102 either but it’s equally as smooth and drama free in use.

Finished off with the matching aftershave which has a really nice thick glass bottle. It didn’t seem as strongly scented as the soap and getting the right amount out was a little tricky but it did leave my skin feeling nice and soft.

All in all a good shave with a nice close smooth result.

Leave a Reply

