SOTD 18.01.16 – 24.01.16

Monday
IMG_2256
3P preshave
Shavemac 2 band silvertip
Le Père Lucien sample
Ikon 102
Astra Superior Stainless (4)
Myrsol Agua Balsamica aftershave

Possibly pushed this blade too far. I did mean to change it after the last shave but forgot and the walk back to the bedroom seemed too far at the time. Lesson learnt. I don’t find the LPL soap to be the most protective lather and I can’t see me buying a full tin based on this sample. There are just better soaps out there.

Wednesday
IMG_2265
3P
Simpsons Duke 3 in best badger
Le Père Lucien
Ikon 102
Gillette 7 o’clock Yellow (1)
Fine Accoutrements Fresh Vetiver

Still struggled to get a decent lather with the LPL so I abandoned the soap after the first pass and used the closest soap to hand which was some Barrister & Mann Seville. Much better lather. The LPL will be going in the frankensoap pot.

Friday
IMG_2267
Dennis Coluccio Finest Badger brush
Razorock Santa Maria del Fiore Firenze
Ikon 102 slant with SE handle
Gillette 7 o’clock Yellow (2)
Alcolado Glacial aftershave

Much better results from the trusty razorock soap after my troubles with the LPL. My skin felt really nice and soft after this shave and it was a good close finish. It seems I’ve been using the slant for ages so I’m switching razors for the next shave.

Sunday
IMG_2279
Semogue OC 2 Band
Shannons Soaps Lady Luck
7 o’clock LC on Tuckaway handle
Gillette 7 o’clock Yellow (3)
Floris JF aftershave

Had a few test lathers with this soap last night and got it dialled in well I think. It didn’t seem to need that much water added to get a very shiny lather with plenty of slickness. Very nice soap indeed with a nice scent. I was considering selling this brush but thought I’d try it again before making a decision. I’m definitely keeping it. Great backbone and soft tips, not as dense as some but I’ve found I prefer a brush that isn’t really dense.

The Floris aftershave arrived yesterday and it is really nice, the scent is quite modern to me and my wife really likes it. It leaves the skin feeling good afterwards too.

Leave a Reply

