A Sublime Saturday shave with the Mongoose

IMG_1489

A quick shave this morning before a long hot day having a birthday party and BBQ for my son. I’m sitting here now absolutely stuffed. I got a card midweek for a missed parcel which I collected after this mornings shave. It was the third Standard Razor from Massdrop, not that I ordered 3 it’s just taken that many for one to arrive without being damaged. Fair play to massdrop who have been very good trying to rectify their mistakes but I feel if they had just packed the first razor well enough there wouldn’t have been all this trouble. Still onto today’s shave:

Proraso Red Preshave
Rooney Emillion Super Badger brush
Reef Point Sublime
Batch 2 Mongoose
Feather Professional (1)
Taylor of Old Bond Street No. 74 Lime aftershave

Second go I believe of the Sublime soap from Reef Point, I thought I’d need a little menthol with today’s shave. I really like the scent of this soap, it’s like a mix of limes and lemons with a light menthol kick. It’s not a massive face freezer which leaves the face numb, just a nice refreshing feel.

The lather whipped up very nicely with the Rooney brush and there was plenty of it for my 3 passes with more to spare.

First go with the Feather Pro blade in my Mongoose and it delivered a very good shave with no drama at all. I’m not sure if it was the blade or the soap, but my face felt really nice and smooth after this shave.

I finished off with a splash of the TOBS Lime aftershave today to complete the lime theme. All of the TOBS aftershaves I have tried have been really great stuff. I’m trying to not buy more aftershave at the moment but once I’ve got through some I will definitely keep a TOBS scent in stock.

Leave a Reply

