Monday is Date Night

IMG_1398
Well Strop Shoppe Date Night that is.
I didn’t get much of a chance to post over the weekend, but I did manage to shave. It seemed like the shortest weekend ever and I seemed to lack energy to do anything. I guess that’s what having two young children does to you.

Today’s shave was:

Myrsol Emulsion as preshave
L’occitane Plisson Synthetic brush
Strop Shoppe Date Night soap
B2 Satin Mongoose
Jürgen Hempel Ti
Feather Pro Guard (5)
Brut Sports Style Aftershave

The Strop Shoppe I traded recently for the Reef Point Dragons Blood which didn’t agree with my skin, luckily this does.

The lather seemed to explode over the sides of the bowl loading up, quite bubbly at first then it got nice and creamy in the brush. I rubbed the bubbly lather on my face and worked it in well by hand before beginning face lathering. It seemed to work up into a nice thick lather and I just dipped the brush tips twice in water to hydrate the lather to a nice consistency and it had a good sheen to it. The scent is very nice and similar to Dior Fahrenheit I’d say, very nice indeed and about medium scent, not overpowering. I found the scent lasted throughout the pass.

3 passes and a few touch ups with the mongoose was all good. Switching to the lighter titanium handle made for a change from the heavier Dr Bomber handle I’ve been using although it seems a little head heavy.

Fifth shave off the Pro Guard blade and it felt as if it was struggling a little against the grain and I got a couple of weepers. Maybe it’s time to change the blade? I’m not too sure but do read about 10 shaves are pretty average for a blade. Maybe I’ll put it to one side and revisit it at a later date.

I finished off today’s shave with a splash of the Brut Sports Style aftershave which worked quite well with the scent of the fresh Date Night soap.

I’ve been using the same razor, handle and blade setup over the weekend, the rest was:

Saturday
Proraso Red Pre
Omega 49
Reef Point Fougere Santal
Myrsol Plastic Shave aftershave

Sunday
Myrsol Emulsion as preshave
L’occitane Plisson Synth
Soap Commander Vision
L’occitane Verdon aftershave
One Planet balm

Leave a Reply

