Soapy Bathman Cigar Lounge

IMG_1334
Myrsol Emulsion
Omega 66
Soapy Bathman Cigar Lounge
Ikon 102 w Jürgen Hempel Ti
English Wilkinson (2)
Fine Platinum AS

Today after coming home to a few deliveries consisting of about 9 soaps I decided to try the Soapy Bathman Cigar Lounge soap.

The packaging really surprised me as it comes with a plastic seal and another cover once you open the lid. Certainly no fear of anyone opening a soap before you when it arrives. A nice touch but not one I’ve come across before.

The soap does look a bit strange at first as it has a sort of white bubbly layer on top of the soap but that goes away after a quick soak in water and it’s all gone after the first loading of the soap.

It’s a very hard soap and I’d read up on this and people had said as its so hard you need to load it up well. I decided to give it a good soak with water while I showered and used the omega boar brush.

Being over cautious I loaded for about 45 seconds with a damp brush which I think may have been a little too long. I had a very thick paste in the bristles but after working into my stubble and adding water along the way I soon got the lather to the consistency I like.

The lather was nice and thick and seemed to glide really well during the shave, certainly a good performer and I didn’t have any issues with the lather breaking down as I had read in some reviews. The only thing that let me down slightly was the scent. But that’s a personal thing but on this first use I’m not a big fan. I’ll give it a few tries before making a decision as there is something in there I like. It’s a rich scent but not overpowering in use.

Post shave felt good and not drying at all and no tightness of the skin. A quick splash of my new Fine Accoutrements Platinum splash to finish off what was a great feeling shave after nearly 3 days it felt good to be smooth again.

3 thoughts on “Soapy Bathman Cigar Lounge

    1. I couldn’t pick up on much tobacco although I did hope it didn’t smell like a lit cigar which it doesn’t. I just can’t make out the strong scent that’s in this one. Have you found over use the scent changes at all?

      Like

      1. I found it changed slightly, but not as much as I would have liked. I traded it away. I love tobacco scents and want to SMELL tobacco. I found Cigar lounge to be more Cologne like. I know what you mean, there is a note that seems dominant that I am not sure what it is.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

