Lavender weekend

IMG_1312
Proraso Red Preshave
New Forest 1901 2 band
Catie’s Bubbles Purple Grapefruit
Schick Dial @ 6
Personna blade (?)
Alpa Fougere Cologne

Another busy bank holiday weekend meant I didn’t get chance to blog Saturday’s shave. Let’s talk about today’s shave while its fresh in my head.

I bought a sample of the Catie’s Bubbles Purple Grapefruit in a recent order to see if the scent was for me. Not good news for the bank account because I like it and will pick up a tub in the future.

The usual CB soap performance, it might have just been how I lathered up today but it felt slicker than some of the others I have tried.

A nice scent which starts off mainly with the lavender, but a nice lavender that isn’t over powering with a little sweetness from the grapefruit. Throughout the shave I kept getting little bursts of the sweet grapefruit scent and then relathering for each pass got a boost of the relaxing lavender scent.

The Schick performed well and left me pretty much BBS after 3 passes. I do like the Schick as you can bear down a bit on the most persistent areas of stubble with no fear of nicks or irritation.

A quick splash of the Alpa Fougere cologne and I was done. It has a nice fougere scent which went well with the lavender and drys down to a clean powdery scent.

Following on with the lavender theme Saturday’s shave was
IMG_1299
Myrsol Emulsion
New Forest 1901 2 band
Nannys Silly Soap French Lavender Olive Oil recipe
Ikon 102 on Jürgen Hempel Ti
Gillette Yellow (3)
La Toja Aftershave

First try of the Nannys Silly Soap Olive Oil French Lavender soap which a friend gave me with about one shave left in the tin. Unlike most soaps with olive oil this actually lathers and doesn’t break down, I think the olive oil gives this a bit more slickness as well. Good clean lavender scent with this one too and I had a good shave with the Ikon slant.

I finished off with a splash of the La Toja aftershave which is very nice and smells to me a bit like Drakkar Noir. I recently got an Al Rehab perfume oil called Dakar which is a clone of Drakkar Noir and a few days left me smelling good all afternoon.

So good perhaps it lead to a few purchases later on in the day, well I’m blaming smelling good anyway lol.

I now have about 9 soaps on their way to me along with 2 bottles of Fine aftershave courtesy of the shaving station. They are really nice people to deal with and if you spend over £20 you got a free Haslinger soap so that’s one of the 9 soaps winging their way to me through the post.

Luckily I never bought into the whole DE shaving to save money, just a better smoother shave with no irritation and ingrown hairs. I always had a thing for scents and smelling good since my late teens, and always want to try the latest things from the newest chocolate bar to the latest multi blade cartridge. I’m sure some of you have great will power and can stick to the most minimal of setup, and I’m very jealous of you.

Leave a Reply

