Schick Injector and Caties Bubbles LPV

IMG_1229
Myrsol Emulsion preshave
The Big Shave LE 2014 super silvertip
Catie’s Bubbles LPV
Schick Dial Injector
Personna (2)
My own Bay Rum Aftershave

I had a bit of a revelation today. I was reading up on Caties Bubbles and saw someone mention using the Marco method of lathering, I think it may have even been Marco over at Badger and Blade. I’ve not had any issue lathering LPV previously but thought I’d give it a go today.

For those that haven’t heard of this you take a very wet brush and let the water drip out until it isn’t dripping any more but is still holding a lot of water. I gave the brush two very light downward drops to get a little more water out as I was face lathering and didn’t want to get too messy. I then very lightly swirled on the soap for 60 seconds and began face lathering, pretty much straight away the lather began to build on my face and after about a minute of working the lather into my stubble I had a huge amount of lather at the perfect consistency for shaving. I painted on the lather to level it out and began my shave.

The Schick gives a nice shave and today I had it opened up to setting 6 which cut through my stubble with ease. After 3 passes I was 90% BBS, which was good enough for me.

I finished off today’s shave with a splash of some bay rum I made a while back. It leaves the skin feeling good but the scent only lasts a few minutes. I’m going to try adding a bit more of another bay rum I have to up the scent and maybe even a little menthol just to spice things up a little.

Leave a Reply

