Razorock Tight Buns and Standard Razor

IMG_1221
Myrsol Emulsion as preshave
The Big Shave 2014 LE silvertip
Razorock Tight Buns
Standard Razor Black
Vintage Wilkinson Blade
David Beckham Instinct aftershave

First try of the Razorock Tight Buns soap which I bought sometime late last year. Not sure why it’s taken me so long to crack this open and give it a try, maybe because it was a limited edition soap so I didn’t want to use it up too quickly.

The scent is based on Creed Green Irish Tweed and was a limited run of soap named after Ant “tight buns” Smith who posts on Facebook shaving groups and did quite a few YouTube videos as well. I like his humorous videos but he isn’t making videos anymore.

Loading up the damp Big Shave super silvertip badger brush was easy after letting a bit of water sit on top of the soap whilst I showered, after about 20 seconds the brush was fully loaded. I face lathered and soon had a nice thick slick lather with a nice scent. I’m told that it can take a few shaves on a Razorock soap to really get the true scent and strength to come through and whilst this wasn’t the strongest scent it was present during the shave.

Post shave feel of the soap was good and I didn’t find it at all drying.

I haven’t used the Standard Razor for a few weeks but it worked really well today with the vintage made in England Wilkinson Sword blade which I think is on its fourth shave now. I heard these blades last quite well and it showed no signs of deterioration during the shave.

All in all this was a really good shave with BBS results. I’m not sure whether it was the combination of soap razor and blade or even the Myrsol preshave but it was the best shave in quite a while.

I finished off with a splash of the David Beckham Instinct aftershave which is a sample given to me by a friend. It’s a nice scent and the aftershave felt a little oily on application and left my skin feeling very nice and smooth. It’s not an overpowering scent but I can still smell it lightly a few hours after my shave.

Leave a Reply

