Castle Forbes Lime

IMG_1216
I couldn’t decide what soap to use today but had gotten a few out recently that hadn’t seen much use and the Castle Forbes Lime was top of the pile.

On to today’s shave.

Proraso Red Preshave
Simpsons Duke 3 Best Badger
Castle Forbes Lime Cream
Merkur 37c Slant
Personna Platinum Chrome (2)
Old Spice Champion Aftershave
Castle Forbes Lime Aftershave Balm

I’ve heard people refer to the Castle Forbes as a cream but it’s more of a croap, or at least mine is. Therefore it got the usual treatment of some warm water on top whilst I had my shower.

I squeezed the water out of the duke and gave it a shake so it was just damp and loaded for about 25 seconds. I could see that there was a good amount of soap in the bristles so started to face lather adding drops of water to the knot as I went until the lather was nice and thick and slick. It did take a fair amount of water to get to the consistency I like and probably could have taken some more.

The shave with the slant felt fine, but now after I’ve got a little irritation. That’s the second rough shave this week with this razor, but I’ve also had some good shaves too. I found that my 39c slant also leaves me irritated sometimes and I think it will be one of those razors I reach for when I have 3 days or more growth to get rid of.

I finished off the shave today with a splash of Old Spice Champion and some of the matching Castle Forbes aftershave balm. The balm is really nice and smells good, much like the shaving cream. The scent is a really sweet lime scent which reminds me of green starbursts. It’s one of those scents that’s very uplifting and fresh and the quality of this balm is very good. It’s one I’ll always reach for if I’ve had a rough shave.

The Castle Forbes range is quite pricey, I picked this pair up in Fortnam & Mason when I was in London looking round the shaving shops around Jermyn Street. Although they are pricey they work really well and are made with top quality ingredients and a little goes a long way with these products. Well worth a try if you’re looking for a natural sweet lime scent.

Leave a Reply

