Cold River Soapworks Nouvelle Fougere

IMG_1206
Proraso Red Preshave
L’Occitane Synthetic Shaving Brush
CRSW Nouvelle Fougere
Merkur 37c Slant
Personna Platinum Chrome (1)

Today was the first try of a Cold River Soapworks shaving soap for me, as a friend lent me a tub of the Nouvelle Fougere scent to try.

It has a nice typical fougere scent which is fern like, but with a touch of anise, which I liked and felt it gave a different scent to the typical fougere scents I’ve tried so far. I’d say it’s a medium strong scent which I could still smell at the end of each pass.

The performance is very good and I found this very easy to load and lather. I found it needed a fair bit of water to get the lather where I wanted it, so would say it’s a pretty thirsty soap. The lather was nice and thick and protective, but maybe lacked a little residual slickness for any touch ups.

I found the post shave skincare to be excellent and I didn’t use any aftershave or balm because of this, and also I still keep getting hints of the scent of the soap some 2 hours later.

I switched to a Personna Platinum Chrome blade today, which for me is quite a mild blade which I wanted to see how the slant transformed. It didn’t feel especially sharp but did a good job at removing the stubble with no irritation or razor burn.

I’m quite liking the smaller slant but as I own a 39c I won’t be getting one myself.

That’s another shave down so time to think about what to use next time around. If you have any suggestions please leave a comment below.

Leave a Reply

