Caties Bubbles LPV

IMG_1200
3P Pre Shave
Silvertip Badger Brush
Caties Bubbles LPV
Merkur 37c Slant Bar
English Wilkinson Sword blade (2)
British Sterling aftershave

Bit of a rough feeling shave today. Can’t quite put my finger on what went wrong today but the end result was a very smooth shave. I’ll go back to the drawing board on this one and see if I can figure it out.

I struggled with the silvertip today, it’s a fairly new brush to me but felt a little too floppy to pick up enough soap today. I usually leave a little water on top of my soaps while I shower, even softer ones like LPV, but I didn’t today so maybe that was half the issue. I’ve also noticed its shedding quite a few hairs, but hopefully that should stop after a few more shaves.

I still really like the scent of the LPV but I wonder if the scent was irritating my skin today or if it was a combination of things. I haven’t had a problem with it in the past so I’ll try a few more times before making a decision.

The 37c slant was very effective today at removing two days stubble. The weather has warmed up here in the last few days and I’m sure it is making my stubble grow a little faster. I’m using this 37c slant to compare to my 39c slant, they give a similar shave and I’m not favouring one over the other at the moment. It seems a little more nimble to use with its shorter handle with a little less weight but shaves just the same.

The vintage Wilkinson blade faired well today on the second shave but I think I’ll put it aside to try in another razor and give the slant a try with another blade for the next shave.

I finished off with a splash of the British Sterling aftershave today which matches the LPV well.

I’ll be trying out a Cold River Soapworks soap for my next shave. I haven’t tried one before but have been lent a tub to try out.

Leave a Reply

