England’s most easterly SOTD?

IMG_1142
Proraso Green Preshave
New Forest 1901
WSP Fougere Noir
7 O’clock Open Comb on Ikon Bulldog handle
Polsilver SI (1)
Myrsol Antesol

I’m away for a few days so this is my travel setup for the next few days. I did also bring a puck of Haslinger Ringelblumen soap, as well as a sample of Le Père Lucien Traditional soap.

I’m staying at the most easterly point of England and I can see the sea from where I’m staying so I reckon I must be having England’s most easterly shave on Easter Sunday, unless someone is on a ship with a DE razor out there!

I had about 2.5 days growth to get rid of so the open comb was a good choice of razor. The 7 o’clock open comb is basically a Gillette long comb New head, which I decided to pair with the Ikon stainless steel Bulldog handle. They pair up very well and with the Polsilver SI blade I had a very smooth close shave.

The WSP Fougere Noir soap is new to me and the first time I’ve used this particular scent, but I have the Mahogany and a small sample of the Vetiver which I mixed with some unscented soap which works well.

Loading up with the New Forest 1901 was easy and I found after 20 seconds loading I had ample soap in the knot for my 3 passes. I do find the stiffer 2 band badger hairs tear into soaps making loading very easy.

The scent is good and on the medium strong level and I could still smell it clearly towards the end of each pass, but as it is a lighter type of scent rather than a strong dark spicy type of scent it isn’t overpowering on the nose if that makes sense.

Cushion and slickness was good and it didn’t seem drying at all. I’m using unfamiliar water here but think it’s a similar hardness as when I’m at home, certainly not soft water.

I finished off with a splash of Myrsol Antesol which was nice with a little menthol hit to wake me up and a nice citrus scent that turns a bit powdery then fades away to nothing quite quickly.

I’ve taken to bringing some scent samples away with me to save a bit of room and gives me a chance to try some new things whilst I’m away. Today I used the sample of Czech and Speake No 88 which has a nice dirty rose kind of scent, which I’ve grown to like. If it wasn’t so pricy I’d get a bottle but £80 is a bit much for my budget. Shame there isn’t something similar that can be bought cheaper. Saying that a few dabs from the sample vial lasted for ages on me.

Well happy Easter to you all, hope you have a good one.

Leave a Reply

