Mickey Lee Soapworks La Fee Verte

IMG_1137
3P preshave
Simpsons Duke 3 Best Badger
Mickey Lee Soapworks La Fee Verte
US Gillette Aristocrat
Gillette Swede (4)
Old Spice Noir

Excellent shave on this very windy day in Essex! I lined up a few soaps at the beginning of the week, so I have one more planned shave to go. Today was the turn of MLSW La Fee Verte so onto the shave

I left the Duke 3 soaking whilst I had my shower and also left some water on the MLSW to soften it up a little as I tend to do with most croaps. The nice spicy scent of the soap filled the bathroom and I knew this was going to be an enjoyable shave. I really do like this scent and it’s a shame it isn’t available at the moment, but I hear it may be back in the future.

It’s quite a complex dark spicy scent with a nice touch of absinthe. I squeezed out all the water from the Duke and gave it a little flick so it was just damp and began to load up the soap, it burst into life almost as quickly as the brush touched the soap. I loaded for about 30 seconds before beginning to face lather. I find as the Duke is quite a dense brush it needs just a little more loading than some of my other badger brushes. Face lathering adding a few drops of water as I went along quickly produced a very thick dense lather with plenty of slickness, all the while the lovely scent was present quite strongly.

3 passes with the Aristocrat with the Gillette Swede blade and all was good for the fourth shave on this blade which showed no signs of needing a change quite yet. I don’t know why but I just like the gold plating on this razor, it just feels a bit more elegant using a gold plated razor and the plating has held up well considering this razors over 60 years old!

I finished off the shave with the usual warm water splash followed by a cold water splash and felt like I didn’t really need any aftershave or balm and I could still smell the scent of the soap on my skin for quite a while after while I tidied up the bathroom. I don’t really have an aftershave that matches this scent well so I just reached for the old spice noir to finish off. I must find a nice spicy aftershave to pair with this and my other more spicy soaps.

I’m definitely a fan of the Mickey Lee Soapwork soaps and currently have 3 with another 1 on the way to me, along with another soap commander soap. They are both in my top 3 soaps as they perform so well.

I have noticed after this shave I have a few razor bumps coming so I’ll be watching for the next few shaves to see if I can pin point what is causing this. It could be perhaps that I got quite a close shave the other day with the Razorock SLAB or maybe something else, I am sure recently using SE razors like the 1912 and Schick Injector with their more rigid blades I’ve had fewer ingrowns. But who knows it could be many factors causing them.

Leave a Reply

