Review: Bluebeards Revenge EDT

IMG_1126
I was recently sent a bottle of the Bluebeards Revenge eau de toilette scent. Here is my review:

The bottle this scent comes in is very nice, it’s a rubberised rich blue colour with the Bluebeards Revenge skull and crossbones logo. In hindsight I wish I had taken a photo of the bottle to show you all, but its definitely one you could leave out on display. It has a spray applicator which allows a measured amount compared to a splash where you can overdo the application of the scent and cause those around you to keep their distance. Not that it’s a problem as it is a nice smell which I think the ladies will like on a man, I know my wife likes it so that’s always a bonus to me.

The Bluebeards Revenge range is made in the UK and is also available in America and Canada as Dreadnought. The box proudly displays an FHM grooming award and also has some of the legendary humour the company is built on that had my wife in stitches whilst reading the box.

So on to the scent, the makers describe it as:

The Ultimate Fragrance for Real Men! – Refreshing new fragrance aimed at the modern, masculine man

This refreshing new fragrance opens with ozone notes accented by Sicilian bergamot and Ligurian basil. The heart features a rich blend of jasmine, black tea and watermint, while the rich base notes include Madagascar vanilla highlighted by sandalwood and patchouli along with oakmoss and musk.

That pretty much sums the scent up and I would say it starts off very fresh and citrusy, and then shortly afterwards it transforms into the middle and basenotes and that’s when I like it the most. The dry down is very pleasant and masculine, I can’t see this being offensive to anyone and I really think it would be ideal for a nice hot summers day relaxing. It’s a fresh modern scent done right which I think could appeal to all ages even though it’s marketed to the 20-30 age range. Definitely one that could be worn on a night out, but equally enjoyed in a more relaxed environment, or even to work.

Whilst this isn’t the strongest scent I own it lasted a good 6 hours on me and the projection was good. I walked into the same room as my wife and she remarked how good I smelt so it must project quite well, at least on initial application.

Overall a very nice scent which I will enjoy wearing. I also have the shaving cream which I’ve yet to try out, as well as the huge blue bar of soap, which will get used once my current bar of soap runs out.

Leave a Reply

