A little about me

I thought I would take some time to share my experiences with you around traditional shaving. What started out as a cheaper way of shaving with better skin condition has spiralled into a hobby / obsession. I managed to get by with only one razor for about 2 years but now have around 30!

This all started as I suffered from ingrowing hairs after shaving and after a little looking around on Google found that the cause was amongst other things using a multi-bladed “cartridge” razor. A Gillette Mach 3 was my weapon of choice. The suggestions were to use a single bladed double edge (DE) razor, after many hours researching online I went with an Edwin Jagger DE89 razor and would certainly recommend this to anyone starting out. They cost around £15-20 online available from the likes of http://www.amazon.co.uk although if you are just looking to try this out you can get a fairly cheap Wilkinson Sword Classic DE razor in most UK supermarkets etc.

The question you are no doubt asking is did this cure the skin problems I had, and the short answer is YES. I will go through the long answer perhaps in future blogs, along the way whilst sharing my views on the vast array of products out there, which should you start traditional shaving you will be amazed by the choice that is out there.

I will say one of the most important things you can do is prepare your skin for a shave, and that the ideal time to shave is fresh out of a nice hot shower, it really does make a difference. Even if you don’t fully make the switch to full on traditional shaving just changing a few things can have amazing results.

Leave a Reply

